Vision: To be a thought leader of knowledge generation for societal transformation and development

News & Events

Latest News

  • Improving Agricultural Services in Northern Uganda: Mak staff Train 546 Extension Workers

    Makerere University has trained 546 extension workers from Northern and Eastern Uganda. The five-month training that started on 5th September 2022 and ended January 2023 has been conducted by academics from the College of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences (CAES), College Natural Sciences (CoNAS), College of Veterinary Medicine, Animal Resources and Biosecurity (CoVAB), Makerere University Business

    January 31, 2023
  • Call for Applications: MSc. for Reforest Scholarships 2023

    REFOREST Programme a Regional Research School in Forest Sciences (REFOREST) is a new, innovative, interdisciplinary and unique regional PhD degree programme for training future generation forest scientists in Africa. The programme is hosted at Sokoine University of Agriculture (SUA) and is anchored in partnerships where five universities in the region including Makerere University in collaboration

    January 3, 2023
  • *End of 2022 Message from the Principal*

    Dear Colleagues, 2022 has been a remarkable year at CAES because leaders and all members of staff committed to pursuing the *“Innovation Intentional”* agenda. The Transformational Change Pact that was signed by representatives from all units is a clear testimony that we have a shared purpose for the direction and future of our college. I

    December 31, 2022

Upcoming Events

Enjoy some of our diverse events in pictures and video

Makerere At 100: Celebrating A Century Of Service To Humanity

Opening its doors to only 14 students in 1922, Makerere University has grown to become one of the most prestigious Universities in Africa and the World over. This celebration marks a century of excellent services, and offers a chance to look beyond, and see how to Leverage the 100 Years of Excellence in Building a Transformed Society

About the Centennial Celebrations

Makerere At 100: Celebrating a Century of Service to Humanity

CAES Alumni

The College of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences has brought together and trained students from different parts of the world with…

read more

Makerere At 100 Celebrations: Vice Chancellor's Message

CAES Strength,
in Numbers




Graduate Programs


Research Journals


Undergraduate Female Students


Shakirah Nakasagga

Shakirah Nakasagga

I joined Makerere University in 2014 as a private student seeking to further my education without financial assurance. I got a scholarship on the third day of school with AGRA. Studying isn’t a straight path, I faced challenges but I had a mentor, father, lecturer and a friend in Dr. Richard Edema. Throughout my study at Makerere, Dr. Edema supported me, I must commend his program (MaRCCI) because it not only builds future scientists but also fighters, people with a vision, mission on how to accomplish specified goals in the field of crop improvement.

Hakim Mufumbiro

Hakim Mufumbiro

Head, Food and Agriculture Standards Division, Uganda National Bureau of Standards. Studying at CAES added value to me as a student. I’d like to think I have the best of worlds-an open and analytical mind of a professional Food Scientist. I believe CAES is the place where the two worlds were nurtured!

Stella Kabiri-Marial, PhD

Stella Kabiri-Marial, PhD

Crop and Weed Ecologist with a PhD from Wageningen University in the Netherlands. When I made the decision to study at the College of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences, I didn’t realize I was making a choice that would change my life forever. I am so much more confident in my ability to attract and connect with scientists all over the world. CAES you are amazing!

Joseph Kirule

Joseph Kirule

I graduate in 2005 with a Bachelors of Science in Environmental Management and currently working as a Technical Officer-Renewable Energy, German Development Cooperation (GIZ). CAES helped me get the right opportunities to learn and project myself in the professional world. Bravo CAES!

Mission: To Advance Training, Knowledge Generation and Service Delivery in Order to Enhance Agricultural Development,
Sustainable Natural Resource Utilization and Environmental Management