Department of Extension and Innovation Studies

Prof. Nelson Turyahabwe

The Department of Extension & Innovations Studies is headed by Prof. Nelson Turyahabwe as Head (Chair). It is one of the three Departments of the School of Agricultural Sciences, Makerere University. The Department aims at improving the capacity of the School of Agricultural Sciences graduates to facilitate utilization of technical agricultural information and Technologies to solve farming problems; and addresses all aspects of agricultural extension, knowledge management and knowledge transfer in the Agricultural sector.


Our Mission is to contribute to the achievement of the national goal of increased Agricultural Production for Food Security and Export; Conducting research in agricultural extension education; organizational development; technology adoption and dissemination; and programme planning, implementation.


Train personnel to man agricultural institutions, including research, extension services, agribusiness and school agricultural programmes. Conduct in-service training programmes for agricultural extension, agribusinesses, and relevant NGOs and CBOs.

The Department coordinates undergraduate and graduate training through the following

  1. Bachelor of Agricultural and Rural Innovations (Full Time (BARI)-3 years  and Distance/External-BAX- that runs for 4 years)
  2. Master of Science in Agricultural Extension Education  (MAGE)
  3. PhD in Agriculture and Rural Innovation (PARI)

The Department works closely with many Organizations offering Agricultural and Rural development Services notably: Ministry of Agriculture, Animal Industry and Fisheries (MAAIF-Extension Directorate), District Local Governments, Research and Academic Institutions, Private Sector ,The Regional Universities Forum for Capacity Building in Agriculture (RUFORUM), NARO, NGOs and CBOs- Sasakawa Africa Fund for Extension Education (SAFE), farmers and farmer organisations.  The department is also a member of the Uganda Forum for Agricultural Advisory Services (UFAAS)

Contact Us:

Staff of the Department
Academic Programs